You’re using marijuana for recreational or medical purpose, but what would happen if you used it in states where it is prohibit or where such is illegal? Well, you know the answer. You will get to jail if caught. To avoid the problem, it would be wise to know which states approve marijuana use and which ones do not. This is the only thing to help you keep yourself out of jail time.

What’s The Latest State Laws On Marijuana Use?

Currently, there are 23 states, including the District of Columbia that legalized marijuana, at least in some forms.  In Washington DC, voters agree on approving a ballot of the initiative of legalizing recreational marijuana use, but such is subject for Congressional review. Both the states of Colorado and Washington have passed similar ballot measures aiming to legalize the drug in the year 2012. Meanwhile, other states approved marijuana but only for medical purposes; therefore, there are set of limits as to how much of it is acceptable. To sum this thing up, take note that some states have passed broader laws than others did as to which kinds of medical conditions are permitted to make use of cannabis as a treatment option. Nevertheless, the states do not have similar standards in this regard.

Through the years, the use of marijuana, including its implementation, scope and regulation of dispensaries have drastically changed, especially on issues and talks about the medicinal benefits of marijuana to the very ill patients, including those suffering from epilepsy and cancer. And even though some states are less restrictive than others are, others are still very critical and much restrictive about the matter.

(*Represents ONLY CURRENT STATUS, as of Jan, 2015)

States That Approve Marijuana

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • Oregon
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont
  • Washington


States That Have Not Legalized Marijuana

  • Idaho
  • Wyoming
  • North Dakota
  • South Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • Utah
  • Kansas
  • Oklahoma
  • Texas
  • Iowa
  • Missouri
  • Arkansas
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • Tennessee
  • Kentucky
  • Indiana
  • Ohio
  • Alabama
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • north Carolina
  • south Carolina
  • Virginia
  • west Virginia
  • Pennsylvania

Why Know of These?

Well as said earlier, you can keep yourself out of jail time by learning which among the states approve and which disapprove or have not legalized marijuana, whether you are a patient, a recreational user or a seller. By keeping yourself updated you will not only stay away from trouble when caught in possession, using or selling marijuana in states where such is prohibited but you will also be able to use it for pain, depression, or multiple sclerosis, among other benefits, as prescribed by your doctor,  when you need it. If you were a seller, then, you will be able to figure where to and where not to sell marijuana, too. Then, if you have just moved from one state, where you are cultivating marijuana, to another, where it may be prohibited to do, you can equip yourself with the right knowledge to avoid any problems in your current residence.